



## Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels

Serving the needs of public, education, and government cable access television stations since 1998.

2009 - 2010 Board of Directors

President
John Foust
Jefferson JPEG

Vice-President
John Jordan
Wausau Area Access Channels

Treasurer
Deb Brunett
Merrill Productions

Secretary
Mick Givens
Rice Lake Public Access

Public Policy Chair Brad Clark Madison City Channel

**Joel Desprez** Chippewa Valley Community TV

> Galen Lingl Mauston Public Access

Alan Luckett
Whitewater Community Television

Communications Chair
Scott Mealiff
Sheboygan WSCS

Mary Shanahan Spanic West Allis Community Media Center

Membership Chair **Tom Soik**Sturgeon Bay Public Access

Conferences Chair
Pam Steitz
Sun Prairie – Kids 4

Executive Director Mary Cardona 608-215-5594 608-233-6148 (fax) wapc@tds.net

www.saveaccesstvwisconsin.org

www.wapconline.com

March 15, 2010

Representative Gary Hebl State Capitol P. O. Box 8952 Madison, Wisconsin 53708

Dear Representative Hebl,

It is my pleasure to inform you that the WAPC Board of Directors has chosen you to receive a 2010 Friend of Access Award in recognition of your unflagging advocacy for public, education, and government (PEG) access television stations in Wisconsin.

This is the second time you have received this award from WAPC. The first time you received it in 2007 I wrote,

"You carried our message to members of the Assembly and urged fellow legislators in the Senate to support local programming. To acknowledge the key role you have played in raising the profile of this crucial issue and garnering legislative support for PEG, WAPC is presenting you with a 2007 Friend of Access award."

This year you did even more. You are our Wisconsin legislative champion. We know you share the same commitment to community television as we all do. Like our members, you see first-hand how community television touches and improves the lives of individuals and communities. The "Cable Consumer Repair Bill" and the "Save Our Community Television Bill" have given us all hope for the future.

WAPC would like to present this award to you at our Spring Conference on Friday, April 30 either during our 11:30 a.m. Opening Luncheon or at the Video Festival Awards Banquet at 6:30 p.m. the same day. Both events will take place at the Ho-Chunk Convention Center just south of Wisconsin Dells.

Other 2010 recipients of the Friend of Access Award are Representatives Garey Bies, Mary Hubler, Terese Berceau, and Mike Sheridan. Previous recipients of the Friend of Access Award besides yourself include U. S. Representative Tammy Baldwin, State Senators Judy Robson and Kathleen Vinehout, Wisconsin Representatives Louis Molepske, and the Friends of Oshkosh Community Access Television.

Thank you, Representative Hebl. Truly, you are a Friend of Access.

lany Cardona

Sincerely,

Mary Cardona Executive Director

cc: WAPC Members