

Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels

Serving the needs of public, education, and government cable access television stations since 1998.

2008 - 2009 Board of Directors

President John Foust Jefferson JPEG Finance Chair

Vice-President John Jordan Wausau Public Access

Treasurer **Deb Brunett** Merrill Productions Finance Committee Chair

Secretary Mick Givens Rice Lake Public Access

Brad Clark Madison City Channel Public Policy Chair

Joel Desprez Chippewa Valley Community TV

> Galen Lingl Mauston Public Access

Alan Luckett Whitewater Community Television

> Scott Mealiff Sheboygan TV WSCS Communications Chair

Mary Shanahan Spanic West Allis Community Media Center

Tom Soik Sturgeon Bay Public Access Membership Chair

Pam Steitz Sun Prairie Cable Television Conferences Chair

> Executive Director Mary Cardona 608-215-5594 608-233-6148 (fax)

wapc@tds.net www.saveaccesstvwisconsin.org www.wapconline.com March 15, 2010

Mr. Jon Urben Director of General Services City of Oshkosh 215 Church Avenue Oshkosh, Wisconsin 54901

Dear Jon,

I have the great pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen by the WAPC Board of Directors to be the 2010 inductee into the WAPC Hall of Fame!

As you know, WAPC began this award in 2008 and our first inductee was Wade Britzius, who successfully led Trempealeau County Community Television for nearly 30 years prior to his retirement. In 2009, we honored Judi Kneece upon her retirement, for founding and leading Janesville Access Television. It is now your turn.

Jon, everyone I know who has worked with you, has nothing but the greatest respect for you and your accomplishments. As I noted in our press release today, "community television in Wisconsin owes a huge debt of gratitude to Jon, whose strong leadership and amazing organizational skills set the standard for everyone who came after him." As the Director of Oshkosh Community Media Services, you were the key instigator and co-founder of WAPC in 1998. You were WAPC's first President and served in that role often until 2006, when you retired from the board. During your tenure, the board was a working board, and you served not only as President, but as the de facto Executive Director of a growing organization. Before you left, you made sure the work of the organization would continue by shepherding the hiring of a part-time Executive Director. Today, the organization you helped found with a handful of stations has 63 members and is going strong.

I know I speak for everyone -- all your many friends in this organization who have had the pleasure to know you (and miss your daily involvement) -- when I say that the Hall of Fame Award could not go to a more deserving WAPC member. Congratulations.

WAPC would like to present this award to you on Friday, April 30 at our Spring Conference Video Festival Awards Banquet. The event is being held at the Ho-Chunk Convention Center just south of Wisconsin Dells and will begin at 6:30 pm after the Exhibitor Reception.

Sincerely,

Jany Cardona

Mary Cardona Executive Director

cc: WAPC Members