



Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels

Serving the needs of public, education, and government cable access television stations since 1998.

2006-2007 Board of Directors

President Joel Desprez Eau Claire Community TV

April 25, 2007

Vice-President Judi Kneece Janesville JATV-12

Senator Judy Robson Room 211 South State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin

Treasurer Finance Chair **Deb Brunett** Merrill Productions

Dear Senator Robson,

Secretary Dan Kummer Marshfield Public Access

WAPC is most grateful for all you have done on behalf of public, education, and government access television stations in Wisconsin. Your strong leadership has saved local PEG access television from extinction. To acknowledge the key role you have played, WAPC is presenting you with a 2007 Friend of Access award.

Membership Chair **Dawn Wills** River Falls Community TV

WAPC would like to present this award to you at the WAPC Annual Conference on Friday, May 4 during our opening luncheon at the Sheraton Hotel in Madison. Other 2007 recipients are Rep. Gary Hebl for his valiant work in the Assembly, and Friends of OCAT, which underwrote the cost of establishing the Save Access Wisconsin website.

Resources Chair John Jordan Wausau Public Access

> This is the second year for this award. Last year, Rep. Tammy Baldwin was the first recipient of a similar award for her efforts in the House of Representatives on behalf of PEG stations. Tammy introduced a "Do No Harm" amendment that would have provided a 1% PEG fee and grandfathered all financial and in-kind support for PEG access channels above the 1% level.

Dave Knutson Beloit College

> The Video Competition Act (SB107) as introduced was designed to abolish PEG stations across the state. We have come a long way in a few weeks from losing nearly every station to saving nearly every station in Wisconsin. No matter what happens in the future with this bill, we are indebted to your strong steadfast leadership that has gotten us to this point.

Galen Lingl

Mauston Public Access Communications/Public

> I am attaching a copy of the brochure for your convenience. Please let us know if you will be able to attend.

Policy Chair Alan Luckett Whitewater Station 13

Sincerely,

Scott Mealiff Sheboygan TV 8 WSCS

> Joel Desprez President

Stevens Point Community

John Ouirk

Television

ACM Representative Mary Shanahan Spanic West Allis Community Media Center

> Cc: Governor Jim Doyle Ms. Judi Kneece, JATV

Executive Director Mary Cardona 608-215-5594 608-233-6148 (fax) wapc@tds.net

Mr. Alan Luckett, Whitewater Community Television

Mr. Dave Knutson, Beloit Access Television

Mr. Steve Scheiffer, City Manager, City of Janesville Mr. Kevin Brunner, City Manager, City of Whitewater

Mr. Larry Arft, City Manager, City of Beloit

WAPC Members