

2011 - 2012 **Board of Directors** 

President **Deb Brunett** Merrill Productions Merrill Area Public Schools

Vice-President John Foust JPEG City of Jefferson

Treasurer Deb Brunett (interim) Merrill Productions Merrill Area Public Schools

Secretary Mike Ryan West Bend Community Television

Public Policy Chair **Dave Armstrong Rice Lake Community** Television

Membership Chair Dan Kummer Marshfield Community Television

**Conferences Chair** Bonny Lundy Fitchburg FACT City of Fitchburg

**Communications Chair Ryan Marguart** Pleasant Prairie Media Village of Pleasant Prairie

**Executive Director** Mary Cardona exec@ wisconsincommunity media.com 608-215-5594

## Wisconsin Community Media

Working to create an informed public and strong communities.

March 16, 2012

Mr. John Jordan 6265 LeRoy Lane Stevens Point WI 54482

Dear John,

It is my pleasure to inform you that Wisconsin Community Media (formerly the Wisconsin Association of PEG Channels) has chosen you to be our 2012 inductee into the Hall of Fame!

As Executive Director of Wausau Public Access Channel 10, you were among the pioneering stations that formed WAPC.

Over the next ten years, beginning with the first nine-member WAPC Board of Directors, you served seven years on the board, providing leadership in various capacities.

As the Director of the Wausau Area Access Channels, you provided public, education, and government access services to the greater Wausau community. At its height, this station produced well over 150 programs per year, served over thirty community organizations, and trained ten to twenty community residents each year to produce their own programming.

In 2009, when the City announced the closure of its station due to Charter Communications' refusal to pay PEG fees through the three-year sunset period mandated by law, you immediately began working with the community on alternate scenarios.

Since the closure of Wausau's station, you have never given up hope that a new way will be found to fund and house a community-based station. Your collaborative efforts, on your own time, continue to this day.

The kind of dedication and leadership you have shown to PEG access television epitomizes what the Hall of Fame Award is all about. WAPC began this award in 2008 to honor the lifetime achievement of Wisconsin's leaders in the PEG access field such as you. Previous honorees have been Wade Britzius of Trempealeau County Community Television (2008), Judi Kneece of Janesville JATV (2009), Jon Urben of Oshkosh Community Media (2010), and Pam Stetiz of Sun Prairie Kids-4 (2011).

Congratulations, John! The Board of Directors would like to present this award to you on Thursday evening May 3rd at our Spring Conference Video Festival Awards banquet. We invite you and a guest to attend the event being held at the Marshfield Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center. The Exhibitors Reception begins at 5:30 pm and is followed by the banquet at 6:30 pm.

Sincerely,

lang Cardona

Mary Cardona **Executive Director**